skip navigation

Tryouts

2020-21 Jr. Sharks Tryout Information

Tryout dates for the 2020-21 Season:

Boys AA: Tryouts are scheduled for December 4

Boys Travel and Girls: No earlier than December 11

 

**Please note, if physical tryouts are not permitted based on county restrictions, we will select AA teams on Dec 4th**

If you have questions about tryouts, please contact Curtis Brown (cbrown@sharksice.com) or Mike Janda (mjanda@sharksice.com). For team specific questions, please contact the appropriate coach.


CAHA Tryout Update

To: All CAHA Member Associations
Re: CAHA Permitted Tryout Dates Update

All,
This letter shall serve as notice that pursuant to the CAHA Board of Directors Special Meeting held on September 12, 2020, the Directors voted in the following 2020-2021 CAHA tryout calendar updates;

TIER 1
Tier 1 contracts (bilaterally binding) shall be permitted effective 10/1/20. This will supersede the previously posted Tier 1 tryout dates, as well as the Tier 1 unilateral team formation/player rostering policy issued by CAHA on July 19, 2020. What this means is that players choosing to recommit to a Tier 1 team on/after 10/1/20 will be bound to that team subject to the terms/conditions of player contract they enter into, and CAHA/USAH rostering rules and guidelines.

TIER 2
Provided that Shelter in Place restrictions applicable to ice rinks/youth hockey are lifted statewide, Tier 2 Tryouts shall be permitted Not Earlier Than 11/20/20.

A/BB/B
Provided that Shelter in Place restrictions applicable to ice rinks/youth hockey are lifted statewide, A/BB/B Tryouts shall be permitted Not Earlier Than 12/4/20.

High School
CAHA is currently reviewing the High School (HS) landscape and will be canvasing participating HS team representatives to ascertain what if any impact prior CIF decision regarding sports participation may have on participating teams in the ADHSL/LAKHSHL/SJHSHL leagues. If responses indicate there to be little or no impact, then CAHA will most likely also move HS tryout dates as follows; Provided that Shelter in Place restrictions applicable to ice rinks/youth hockey are lifted statewide, HS Tryouts shall be permitted Not Earlier Than 12/4/20* (*decision pending).

Sincerely,
Thomas Hancock
President


2020-21 Boys AAA Coaches

18AAA - Mike Janda (mjanda@sharksice.com)

16AAA - John Beaulieu (john@john-doris.com)

15AAA - Mike Janda (mjanda@sharksice.com)

14AAA - Kolton Aubol (kolton.aubol@gmail.com)

13AAA - Curtis Brown (CBrown@sharksice.com)

12AAA - Kolton Aubol (kolton.aubol@gmail.com)

11AAA- Brandon Hirschel (CoachHirschel@gmail.com)

 

2020-21 A/B Coaches

16A - Ian Mace (ianmace@protonmail.com)

14U-1 - Val Khomchenko (sfsharksfan@gmail.com)

14U-2 - Craig Miller (ice11299@aol.com)

12U-1 -  Scott Podlesh (scott.podlesh@att.net)

12U-2 - Greg Angus (gregory.angus20@gmail.com)

2010-1 - Kevin Whitmer (genvitmer25@gmail.com)

2010-2 - Nik Breitenstine (nbreitenstine@sjsharks.com)

2011-1 - Jonathan Cheechoo (earl71980@hotmail.com)

2011-2 - Jason Orach (jorach@gmail.com)

2020-21 AA Coaches

18AA - Jorge Murillo (jorgeamurillo@msn.com)

16AA - Shane Galaviz (SGalaviz@sharksice.com)

14AA - Aaron McDougall (aaron.mcdougall@vancebrown.com)

12AA- Vaughn Reuter (VReuter@sharksice.com)

 

 

2020-21 Girls Coaches

19U - Sue Bilton (suebilton68@gmail.com)

16U-1 - Tatjana "Tiki" Tikhonov (tikhonovtrainingcamp@yahoo.com)

16U-2 - TBD

High School - Steve Coates (coachstephen9@gmail.com)

14U-1- Jon Carpenter (jcarpenter@sjsharks.com)

14U-2 - TBD

12U-1 -  Tim Grewal (t_grewal@hotmail.com)

12U-2 - TBD

10U-1 - Matt Adams (madams@sharksice.com)

10U-2 - TBD

8U - Louise Elnaggar (louise.elnaggar@gmail.com)

 

2020-21 Tryout Registration & Schedule

Registration for tryouts will be open 2 weeks prior to tryouts. Schedule will be posted at the same time. Please check back then. Thank you!